Drupal vs Joomla Blog

Getting started with Drupal Theme Development

Posted on: December 1, 2008

Ive been doing alot of reading lately on drupal configuration and drupal theme design.

I am surprised by the lack of standards for wireframe development.

Google search for wireframes returns a variety of results with little similarities.

At the core, a good wireframe is all about representation. Each Block should represent both a location, and specific data or functionality.

I have just started on my first drupal theme, and wanted to focus on a multi use drupal template.

picture of drupal theme wireframe design

picture of drupal theme wireframe design

I have included many layout regions for the purpose of efficient page design.

Based on previous projects I know that using a variety of region positions enables me to quickly create strong visual presentations of any data the project requires.

I have broken the Right and Left side Regions of this drupal theme wireframe into 6 distinct regions, this will allow me to apply Region Highlights to add a variety of typographic and stylistic elements to each box or region.

drupal theme design - region highlights

drupal theme design - region highlights

drupal theme design - region highlights

drupal theme design - region highlights

This is really a first draft of my drupal theming project. I want to use these specific regions to power a few sites, and hope that the above layout is a flexible wireframe.

I will post some screenshots of project pages when I get something approved by my drupal development team.

Leave a Reply

RSS trendsetterwebs profile

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
