Drupal vs Joomla Blog

Drupal vs Joomla

Posted on: December 10, 2008

You know I am a fan of Joomla, having developed sites for clients and my own use with Joomla 1.5 from the day it was released.

Now i’m developing sites with Drupal and find that 3 weeks into Drupal Development I miss Joomla.

For me the administrative and aesthetic focus of Joomla is more intuitive than Drupal.

Everything from altering your Site HTML and CSS to loading new modules, components, and plugins, is right on the same screen in the Joomla administrator panel.

Drupal vs Joomla - Joomla admin / backend

Drupal vs Joomla - Joomla admin / backend


Joomla admin inteface

I also wanted to toss in a screenshot of the New WordPress Dashboard, or administrator panel… I think they get first prize for admin panel!! between the thee big os cms. This blog is on WordPress clearly.

This drupal theme blog is about drupal theme development for the most part, I just like to rant a bit every so often…
Wordpress vs Joomla vs Drupal count me with the Joomla crowd at least for today.

6 Responses to "Drupal vs Joomla"

I agree. There are a lot of things I like about Drupal (the ACL being an important one) but when I work with Drupal there are so many Joomla features that I miss. And I’m not just talking about the administrative interface. The first time I tried to upgrade a Drupal installation, I wanted to run back to Joomla.

Well I am a big fan of Drupal due to the ability for it to be integrated with vBulletin forums via http://www.vbdrupal.org

and then when you throw in the bridge available for WordPress to vBulletin then you get a structure that is awesome

Drupal will grow and grown due to the nature of attaching modules to the system

Not tried Joomla much and I don’t think I will be due to my high satisfaction of what I work with

I’m just now switching back to Joomla!

Having been out of the ecosystem for a bit… i need to get caught up on latest joomla extensions.

I have been encouraging my friends to try a variety of CMS before choosing one… sure this may take a few weeks, but if u find that one CMS has all the features u need to complete a specific project go with that.

It will save u so much time on trying to develop a new mod or hack to your “favorite” CMS

For me the Joomla Community is what supports my current position.

best

matt

This is from a programmers perspective. I’ve only ever programmed using drupal and not joomla so I’m not going to go out and state that drupal is better.

As a programmer I needed something that would give me a basic (but solid) user management system (user accounts,login ..etc) without it be bloated, from there I needed the ability to control every aspect of a website. The hooking system of drupal gave me that. I’m sure a joomla programmer will say the same thing about joomla.

I must admit, anyone without programing knowledge will have trouble with drupal and I would probably recommend joomla in those cases.

But as an example of what drupal 6.x is capable of, I’ve been working on a facebook clone using drupal 6.x. The demo site can be tested here: http://statusbook.netriftsolutions.com … login is demo/demo —> note it’s not done and probably won’t be for a while.

IMPORTANT: it’s free to download but do not use this for production sites! this is purely for show and I’m pretty sure there are copy right issues. If you want to use it, then use a different theme! There’s no time line for this project as I’m not being paid.

I do plan on using some of these features for an up and coming social network site.

cheers

I’m very interested in this topic. It is important for people to know what CMS would best meet their needs. However, I don’t think that there is a authoritative analysis out there that helps people decide what CMS to use.

Current comparisons of Drupal and Joomla are based on individual opinions. I would like to see a more methodical approach.

So, I’ve put together a survey to gather opinions from wide selection of Drupal and Joomla users. It is available at: http://www.webologysolutions.com/ebusiness-blog/joomla-vs-drupal-survey.html

I’m hoping to get several hundred responses. So please take the survey and let other people know about it too. Anyone interested in learning the results can indicate their interest on the survey itself.

We have completed the Drupal vs Joomla survey I commented about earlier. You can see the results at http://www.webologysolutions.com/ebusiness-blog/Drupal-v-Joomla-Question-Responses.html

We will post more analysis of the survey results in the future. We hope our suvey helps people determine whether Joomla or Drupal is best suited for their project.

Leave a Reply

RSS trendsetterwebs profile

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
